Grackle & Sun

Knit|tinK: Business Socks

Just finished a loooooooong project.  Srsly.  I knit and tinked these socks so many times I lost count.  I know I knit 3 separate full pairs of socks before I got the ones I’m happy with.  The first two times were to change out yarns and stitch patterns.  But all the others were for just one reason:  heels.

For a couple years now, I’ve been searching for the perfect go-to sock knitting formula—something that I can toss on the needles and play with, but where all the key parts are already set—namely, the toe and the heel.   Well, I came up with my own way of making a super-rounded toe that quickly became my favorite, but the heel department was seriously lacking.  There are a millionty ways to knit a heel, and I didn’t like any of them.   I like how a traditional heel flap & gusset fits.  The problem is that I prefer to knit socks two at a time on circulars, and it’s a total pain to knit heel flap & gusset socks this way.  Plus, if you want to go toe-up, which I do, the reverse heel flap & gusset leaves much to be desired.   Otherwise, most toe-up socks require some version of short rows.   I hate wrap & turn short rows with the fire of ten thousand suns.    All the other “easier” variations of  short row heels left me laughing maniacally at the walls.  Easier.  HA!  And then Cat Bordhi came to the rescue with a ridiculously clever invention:  Sweet Tomato Heels.

This heel is perfection.  It can be knit toe-up or cuff-down.   It is super easy to learn how to do and super easy to remember once you’ve done it.  Best of all, it fits like a dream.  Cat made an awesome video tutorial for the technique, and she also very kindly offers help and advice on the Ravelry Sweet Tomato Heel group.  Sweet tomato heels have rocked my world, and I don’t anticipate trying any other kind of heel any time soon.  It’s that good.

I spent the better part of 3 years knitting these socks for Husband.  That’s a long ass time.  In the end though, many lessons were learned, and I’m a better knitter for all the tinking.   I call them “Business Socks”, and if you’re a fan of Flight of the Conchords, you’ll understand why. ;)  You can get all the details from my notes, which are many, on my Ravelry project page.

Business Socks.

Tinks on me!

 

 

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Knit|tinK: Business Socks

  1. A long ass time working for Husband, yes, but lordy, look at them! Surely they must outrun the $16 Smart Wool kind I buy at outdoor shops and have been wearing for a long ass time. It would be curious to hear your take on those particular socks’ heels. Knit on and on…

    • It usually doesn’t take me too long to knit a pair of socks. I know people who can bang out a pair a week or less. I’m not that fast. Yet! Handknit socks are the most comfortable and warm socks you’ll ever wear. They hug your feet in soft, squishy goodness. I thought my storebought socks were awesome until I tried my first pair of handknit socks. It was like thinking I’d been eating filet mignon my whole life—and then realizing I’d been eating Salisbury steak.

Add to the conversation :)

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 173 other followers

