Grackle & Sun

Office Chair Workouts: Week 7

There were no Office Chair Workouts this week.   This is a week of Real World Workouts, lol.   I took the week off from my normal workouts, and I reminded myself everyday that it’s ok (even good) to do that now and again.   The reason I took the week off is because we’ve spent hours (and hours and HOURS OMG) putting new flooring in the kitchen.  We’re doing that brown paper floor thing.  It’s easy, but surprisingly labor intensive.  I don’t know if you’ve ever spent 6 hours in a full squat before, but that’s what it took to lay the first layer of the floor.   I was so sore after the first day that I felt like a truck had run over me.   A few times.  Wait.  Did I say first layer?  Yes.  That’s right.  There was a second layer, too.  And some patching.  Many hours on the floor.  I hurt.  A lot.  And all I can say is that this floor better turn out GORGEOUS.  We still have to stain and poly it.  Will post when it’s finished.

The second reason why I felt ok taking the week off is because we are spending the next few days camping and hiking at one of our favorite places—Hawn State Park.  There are miles and miles of trails up and down craggy hillside cliffs and along idyllic streams, and we will be on those trails every day.  It will be good to get out into the world and stretch my legs and breathe the pine-scented air.  Hopefully, it’ll work out all the kinks and aches from that last few days of home renovation madness.

So, I say that I took off a week, but I haven’t really.   I worked my muscles for endurance with the flooring, and hiking through the Ozarks will definitely beat anything I’ve done on a treadmill.  As long as I’m moving, it counts.  It counts.

I recently found a new site that has a lot of bodyweight training workouts, and I’m going to try them out when I get back.  This site has gotten good reviews from people, even The Angry Trainer, so I’m curious to see how I do with them.  I’ll let you know how it goes next week.  I’m excited to mix it up a little.

 

 

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Office Chair Workouts: Week 7

  1. I’ll want to see pictures of that floor…looks so cool on her site!

Add to the conversation :)

