Grackle & Sun

Autumn Nearing

The calendar says it’s autumn, but St. Louis has different ideas.  Summer lasts longer here.  Always does.  But as we move toward October, little signs of true autumn coming are starting to creep in—the light is changing, the days shortening, there is a tiny suggestion of a chill on the air at night.  I found these little acorn caps empty in the park yesterday.  They made me smile.

I love the little orange suns tucked into each cap like a little happy surprise.  Do squirrels like surprises?  They’re smart enough to notice.

I am ready to welcome autumn this year.  That’s not usually true.  Must be me getting older.

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Autumn Nearing

  1. These photos are beautiful – Fall is my favorite- and acorns have a special place in my heart.

Add to the conversation :)

