Grackle & Sun

Office Chair Workouts: Week 14

Monday:  LovingFit Upper Body & Abs

After reading all the upper body workouts on the site, I decided to pull together a combination of exercises from various LovingFit upper body workouts.  The reason for this is that any upper body workout that I choose from LovingFit is going to be push-up heavy and/or use pull-up bars or dip stations that I don’t have.  I know I can modify these exercises, but I really wanted to choose a number of exercises that would challenge me, but that are doable without too many modifications.  I think that ultimately, this is what will help me strengthen my shoulders so that I can eventually do all those push-up heavy exercises.  I tried to pull a variety of exercises that will work pushing and pulling motions as well as abs.  The name of each exercise is linked to the LovingFit video that it came from.  I’ll be doing various combos of these 14 exercises for the next 4 weeks:

Today I did 10 of each (on each side if applicable) just to familiarize myself with the set.  Believe me, for a bunch of these, that was a challenge.  0.O  Next week, I’ll know better how I need to rep this out.

Tuesday:  LovingFit Lower Body Workout

Again, I did 10 reps of each exercise on each side where applicable.

Wednesday:  Rest Day

Thursday:  OCW

  • 100 Jumping Jacks
  • 25 (per side) Bird Dogs
  • 25 Heismans (each leg = 1 rep)
  • 25 Plank Up Downs
  • 50 High Knees (both knees up = 1 rep)
  • 25 X-pos (to both sides =1 rep)
  • 25 Kick-ups (both sides = 1 rep)
  • 25 Low Sleeper Planks (both sides = 1 rep)
  • 25 UnWDL (per side)

Friday:  Rest Day

Saturday:  Rep Challenge

Was wanting to have a bit of a benchmark, so I decided to do a rep challenge to see how many reps I could do of each exercise before failure.  What do I mean by “failure”?  In this case, I mean the number of reps I can do before having to stop for a break.  Yes, with 5-10 seconds rest, I could definitely keep going, but I want the benchmark to simply be how many I can do “in the first go” so to speak.  I chose 3 OCW exercises and 3 LovingFit exercises for this challenge.

  • Go-Stop-Go Squats (bodyweight):  58
  • Diagonal Bear Push-ups:  12  (i am a sissy)
  • Skater:  Left leg 23  Right leg 34 (i had balance issues on my left leg, so i called it.  i think i could have done more, though)
  • Shoulder Taps:  44 (feet together and tapping both shoulders = 1 rep)
  • X-pos:  22 (raising up to left and right side = 1 rep)
  • Mt. Climbers:  42 (right and left leg = 1 rep)
  • Bonus! 1/2 Burpee Hold:  31  (my legs were still shaky from the go-stop-go’s and the skaters!)

I wasn’t sure how to feel about these numbers until I flipped back and checked the results from the rep challenge I did at Week 4.  Not all the exercises were the same, of course, but of the ones that were, here’s what I scored 10 weeks ago:

  • Regular Squats:  25 (so I more than doubled these in reps and difficulty)
  • X-Pos:  25 total (12 on each side + one to balance it out.  so again, I almost doubled this score since i did 22 on each side this time)
  • Mt. Climbers:  53 total (meaning 26 per leg + 1.  this week, i did 42 per leg which isn’t quite double, but pretty damn good for improvement)
  • 1/2 Burpee Hold:  25  (so I added 6.  will have to work on this one)

It’s nice to see improvement!  :D

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Office Chair Workouts: Week 14

  1. Pingback: Office Chair Workouts: Week 19 « Grackle & Sun

Add to the conversation :)

