Grackle & Sun

Illumination and Gratitude

The lovely and intrepid traveler Snigdha of GETSETANDGO has nominated Grackle & Sun for the Illuminating Blogger Award.  Thank you very much, Snigdha, for thinking of G & S and including my blog for this award.  I appreciate the love.  :D

The rules for the Illuminating Blogger Award are as follows:

  • Visit the blogger who nominated you and thank them (did that).
  • Acknowledge that blogger on your own blog and link back to them (did that, too).
  • Share a random thing about yourself:  I like birdwatching.  A lot.  This morning, I saw that a few little birds were pecking at the ice that had frozen in the birdbath outside, so I got bundled up and went out to fill it with fresh water.  Apparently, it was the coolest thing I’ve ever done ever, because every single bird in our neighborhood (and possibly from surrounding states) came to drink and bathe in the birdbath.  My birdbath is really just a large bottom tray to a planter (you know the part that catches the water?).  It’s big enough that I put a couple bricks in it so the birds would have something to hop up on in the middle.   We had all sorts of sparrows, nuthatches, titmice (titmouses?), cardinals, blue jays, starlings, robins, flickers, woodpeckers, and what I think was a mockingbird.  So many birds, in fact, that at one point, I had to go change out the water.   But watching them all was so much fun.  So, that was my morning.
  • Nominate 5 (or more) blogs for the award, link to their blog, and notify them on their blog.  I nominate the following:
  1. Ch’i Journey~Steph inspires me with both her chi running and 1/2 marathon training plan.  I love her insight into becoming a runner, its challenges and joys. She is awesome.
  2. Local & Bespoke~Mary is a genius at dyeing, particularly with eucalypts.  I also love her posts about tree identification and stewardship.  And the stealthy cycle-by dyestuff collection runs.
  3. Daisey Jayne~Jayne is the craftiest, and I love all the fun projects and beautiful pictures on her blog.  I really love all the reclamation posts.
  4. deborahsuejackson~Sue is a very gifted and thoughtful writer and a wonderful photographer.  I’m hoping this award will get her to post more…(hint, hint).
  5. A Polish Granddaughter & Escape to Evermore~Michelle (Shelly) is a woman of many talents.  Of course I love her posts on dyeing and knitting, but I also love her posts on family and life.
  6. Mountains & Waves~Kate posts about what she loves:  mountains and waves.  I love the photography and how every post makes me want to go outside and stay there.
  7. To Watch Me Unfold~Elizabeth has the soul of a poet and the eye of an artist.  I love how thoughtful and beautiful each post is.
  8. Agujas~Knitting, quilting, traveling…Veronica’s blog is full of every good thing!  I love her gift for observing and writing about details.  I also love that she asks questions of her readers.

I started my blog as a way of keeping track of processes that I love.  It makes me really happy to know that others enjoy reading it, too.  I’ve met a lot of really wonderful and talented people through this experience, and I am very thankful for that.

Much heartfelt gratitude for everyone who takes the time to stop by Grackle & Sun.

Thank you!

Single Post Navigation

16 thoughts on “Illumination and Gratitude

  1. Thank you, thank you, thank you, thank you!! This means alot to me because it came from you who I have so grown to treasure through our exchange of our lives through our blogs. You have inspired me to let more of my Druidic self out in my posts – which you may see more of down the road. And you have turned my favorite holiday into Elevensies!! Returning to you the warmth I receive from your writing.

  2. Dre, thank you so much for the warm pat on the back! Not even in the same league, but I so appreciate being in such good company. One of my resolutions for this year is to learn more and participate more in this growing e-conversation milieu, and to make the time to read more by the wonderful contemporary writers within the easy reach of a mouse click, yourself included. As with many good things that have happened in the last 15 years of my life, I have you to thank for introducing me to this community. Thank you and happy new year! :)

  3. Thank you so much Dre! Coming from someone who’s writing flows like honey I am honored. I love escaping to your blog and seeing what you’re up to and learning something about a range of topics and about you.
    Happy New Year!

  4. Thank you so much Dre! Your words are so kind. It’s an honor to share the stage with these other women. I love your posts as well and I look forward to many more months of sharing our respective journeys!

    • Well deserved. Even though we’ve never met, I’m very proud of you for all the hard work you are putting in, and I am completely inspired by your beginner’s mind with chi running. I can’t wait until your marathon—you are going to rock it out.

  5. Thank you so much from To Watch Her Unfold- I really appreciated that little perk yesterday! It even jumpstarted my inner reflections to go through this past year of posts and do a little sum-up of this gloriously messy year. I hope for more creativity and bravery with our words this next season. Thank you for letting us into your beautiful and thoughtful life, Dre…

  6. Dear Dre, thanks so much for this nomination! I’ve been away from home and blog on a wonderful holiday and returned new year’s eve to find this unexpected honour awaiting me! I hope you have a wonderful new year with so many exciting possibilities opening up and unfolding. I really appreciate your encouragement and interest in my blog and I am especially touched since I think your blog is illuminating, creative, inspiring and delightfully written. best wishes, Mary

  7. Pingback: Illuminating Blogger Award « Agujas

  8. Dre – I want to once again congratulate you on getting this “people’s choice” award. Those are the best – the ones given to you by your readers. I also want to sincerely thank you for sharing your award with Agujas. I just posted about it. Gracias!!

Add to the conversation :)

