Grackle & Sun

Morning Meditation: {Don’t Think of Elephants}

I was chasing the sun. A common thing. Early in the morning. An uncommon thing.  But it’s what I needed to do. So Ronin and I drove to the banks of the Mighty Mississippi, which is where the sun was hanging out.

20151015_072151

Ronin is my good buddy.

20151015_072022

I’ve lived by the Mississippi for years and years. I’ve watched full moons and red moons rise over it. I’ve seen it high and rushing, full of branches and limbs as big as boats. I’ve seen it so low it showed its secrets–wing dams and dry banks. I’ve seen it whipped so hard by the wind that whitecaps stood up like ocean waves. I’ve seen it in the dark with only lights from the bridge reflecting on its dark surface. But I’d never seen it at dawn. I didn’t realize that until I was standing there watching the mist rise off the water like some otherworldly veil, softening the sounds of the river as it flowed past.

20151015_071942

The riverfront here is a combination of paved areas and old hand-laid rough cobblestones. You can walk along it for a long way in either direction, and you can walk right into the water if you like. Something caught Ronin’s attention, and he was trying–as only a dog can–to inhale the entire world through his nose. I followed him, curious about what had him so excited. We walked right to the edge of the embankment, several feet above the water, and looked down. There was a dead fish floating–half a silver carp–very big, staring up at us. Mystery solved. I wondered how it had died, why it was there. Then I caught something out of the corner of my eye. Immediate recognition. A few feet to the left, nestled between some sharp rocks, an unmistakable shape under the water.

Ganesha.

20151015_073209

I asked Ronin to wait for me and climbed over the edge of the embankment onto the rocks below. Ganesh was glowing orange with the light of the dawn, the colors soft under the muddy water. And there it was. The whyness of my morning.

Ganesha, the Remover of All Obstacles, the god of new beginnings.

We said thank you to the river, goodbye to the dawn. We stood and waited patiently for a morning train to pass; it’s tracks run right between the river and the street where we parked. It’s the only place I know where you can stand so close to a passing train that you could touch it, jump on for a ride. And nobody thinks anything of it. Small town. Ganesh rode in the passenger seat as I drove us all home. I washed the river off him and anointed him with butter, and now he sits in our kitchen where he is very happy to look over things from the heart of the house. And obstacles are being removed.

The elephant in the room is my atheishness. But I’ve learned not to overthink these things. Gifts from the Universe take many forms, and we are fools to think they will only come in one flavor–no matter how we try to construct our reality. So follow what pulls you, keep your eyes open for shapes in the water, and listen to your dogs. That is how you catch a wave and surf the Universe–nimbly and joyously and always, always with gratitude.

20151015_073226

Single Post Navigation

11 thoughts on “Morning Meditation: {Don’t Think of Elephants}

  1. I believe we can be spiritual beings without adhering to dogma….. open to the wonders of the world and life.

  2. How I wish I could see your dawn, but all I get are some big fat nono logos where images were supposed to happen and a very very long URL starting with googleusercontent when I point at them.

  3. I had the same thing, its linking to google and asking for the viewer to register. Never-the-less your writing is wonderful and reminds me to not overlook the small things. There is joy in everything. Thank you-

  4. Yes, I too can’t see your lovely images…? When I click on them, still nothing – the images come up in your older posts, but in the last one, only a few loaded as well, so whatever is going on, it’s recent (I’m viewing on a desktop via the wordpress reader and/or chrome).
    Itching to see doggies and river stuff :)

  5. Ganesha in the Mississippi!!! What a find! Ronin is beautiful. Thank you.

  6. Lovely misty morning! Too often I only pay attention to dawn when it comes over water…

  7. Pingback: September sunrise challenge | Colour Cottage

Add to the conversation :)